Did you know that Roku is the most popular media streaming device in the United States? That’s right, with over 20 billion hours of video content streamed, Roku is not only the most favored media player device in the US, but it’s also one that knows its viewers’ habits and uses this knowledge to target advertisements better than most ad-supported streamers.
But of course, with such a large user base, there are some other fascinating Roku statistics and facts that are worth taking a look at. So buckle up and get ready to dive into the facts and figures that will reveal the deepest secrets of this media powerhouse.
Roku Statistics 101
- With a 52% share, Roku dominates the North American market.
- Roku’s market cap currently stands at $10.70 billion.
- There are more than 30,000 apps available on the Roku Store.
- The average user spends 3.5 hours a day watching Roku.
- There are 61.3 million active Roku subscribers in the US.
- Advertisers are increasing spending on Roku by 80%.
Roku Stats & Facts
1. Roku means six in Japanese.
The Roku company was founded in October 2002 by Anthony Wood, the man who invented the DVR. A fun fact about Roku is that Wood named it “six” because it was the sixth company he had founded. The first Roku device was launched on the market in 2008 in collaboration with Netflix.
2. With a 52% share, Roku dominates the North American market.
Nowadays, no home is complete without a CTV device, and it appears Roku is the king of North American households keeping a total of 52% of the market share. Roku statistics further show that together with Samsung, they make up an astonishing 67.4% of the North American market. However, it should be noted that the Roku market share has suffered a considerable decrease from 62% in the last quarter of 2021.
3. Roku’s market cap currently stands at $10.70 billion.
The data is from July 2022, which compared to July 2021, when Roku’s net worth was around $60 billion, might not seem like much. Nevertheless, it’s still a considerable amount from back when it went public with a valuation of $1.3 billion, and it only goes to show how much potential this company has. In fact, by market cap, Roku is the world’s 1346th most valuable company.
4. In July 2021, the Roku stock reached a record price of $479.50.
And according to official stats on Roku, that’s a jump of more than 490% from the average share price, which currently stands at $199.17. The stock soared around the time cable magnate John Malone had made a statement implying that Roku would dominate the subscription video industry. Data further shows that the all-time lowest price Roku shares had was $72.63.
5. There are more than 30,000 apps available on the Roku Store.
Or, to be more specific, Roku subscribers have an incredible 31,312 apps at their disposal. What’s more, so far, a total of 8,802 app publishers have published their products on the Roku App Store. And as per the latest Roku stats and numbers, a total of 17 apps a day are being published on the platform. This goes without saying that Roku-connected TV is not only revolutionizing home entertainment but is offering app creators yet another platform to place their products.
6. At the end of 2021, the total Roku revenue was $2.76 billion.
The above figure, according to MarketWatch’s data, marks a steady and more than satisfactory revenue growth over the past five years. In fact, Roku’s revenue jumped by almost $1 billion from $1.78 back in 2020 to $2.76 billion in 2021. Over the past five years, Roku sales have also been growing from 44.8% in 2018 to 57.53% in 2020 and 55.45% in 2021, which indicates that Roku is keeping pace with the growing streaming market.
Roku Usage Statistics: Subscribers & Demographics
7. Women use Roku more than men.
Official data about Roku devices sold show women are more likely to purchase these devices than men. In fact, 54% of Roku users are women, whereas 46% are men.
8. The average user spends 3.5 hours a day watching Roku.
Roku usage statistics reveal that the average user spends around 3.5 hours or a total of 215 minutes a day watching content on one of these devices. This is likely due to the fact that Roku offers a wide range of content that appeals to many different audiences. Statistics further show a steady increase in average daily time streamed by Roku subscribers, with a peak of 230 minutes a day around the time the COVID pandemic was declared.
9. There are 61.3 million active Roku subscribers in the US.
According to the latest numbers and stats about Roku, the number of Roku streaming devices or the number of monthly active users in the US stands at a whopping 61.3 million, an increase of 1.2 million compared to the final quarter of 2021. What’s more, numbers show the platform has increased its user database by over 40% in the last two years, as at the end of 2019, it boasted only 36.9 million Roku subscribers. This stat goes to show just how popular this streaming device has become and that its target audience is continuing to grow at a rapid pace.
10. Roku is the #1 streaming platform in the US and Mexico by hours streamed.
Facts and stats on Roku reveal a record number of 20.9 billion hours streamed worldwide in Q1 2022, which points to an increase of 2.6 billion hours compared to Q1 2021. What’s more, it appears that since 2018, the number of hours streamed via Roku has almost tripled, which of course, is no surprise given the massive surge in popularity these devices have been experiencing. And finally, in the matter of Roku users by country and hours streamed, data shows Roku wins the gold medal in Mexico, America, and Canada.
11. Roku statistics show nearly half of their subscribers are 55+.
Thanks to Roku’s new feature Automatic Speech Clarity, the company has managed to increase its user database, especially among older audiences. Statistics show a total of 45% of the viewing minutes on the Roku Channel are shown to persons aged 55 or older. Nevertheless, that doesn’t mean Roku is not popular with younger audiences. In fact, Roku user demographics reveal a solid 23% of subscribers are between the ages of 34 and 45 while 17% are between 2 and 17 years old. Stats about Roku usage by age group show lowest percentage (13%) among viewers aged 18 to 34.
12. In the US, the Roku Channel is the 5th most watched on the platform.
While most Roku subscribers use the device to watch Netflix, Hulu, or even Disney Plus, which is also gaining lots of subscribers, it’s worth noting that by the start of 2022, the Roku Channel was the 5th most watched by American subscribers. This is likely due to the fact that the Roku Channel offers a wide range of free content that appeals to many different audiences. But considering Roku just closed a deal with A+E Networks and Lionsgate, subscribers’ preferences could soon change in favor of Roku.
Roku Statistics on Advertising and Monetization
13. Roku charges from $19 to $21 per 1,000 ad impressions.
With spending on CTV advertising is expected to top $21.2 billion, Roku is more than generous with its ad prices. According to Business Insider’s research of the top 10 streaming platforms, Roku charges a CPM of $19 to $21 for ad placement. If we take for instance HBO Max which charges $40 to $49, or NBCUniversal Peacock, which has a CPM of $38 to $44, it turns out that Roku offers an affordable option for TV advertisers.
14. Advertisers are increasing spending on Roku by 80%.
The growing number of Roku active accounts and the amount of time users are spending on the platform has led to a surge in ad spending. In fact, the latest Roku statistics reveal that the top 10 advertisers are increasing their spending on the platform by an incredible 80%. This is likely due to the fact that Roku offers a wide range of ad products that allow advertisers to reach their target audiences.
15. Roku’s brand experiences can generate up to 4X greater purchase intent.
In May 2020, IPG Media Lab conducted a study on how the variety of advertising options offered by Roku could help marketers improve their sales. The findings and stats about Roku usage obtained from over 2,300 subscribers reveal brand experiences that help consumers find free content are not only the preferred type of ads, but 75% of Roku subscribers reported higher purchase intent, and 87% claimed brand favorability just because this type of advertising feels less intrusive. Moreover, the study also found that although video advertisements are great at communicating brand traits, brand experiences results in 4x higher purchase simply because they offer utility and free content.
16. Roku advertising revenue will reach $1.4 billion by the end of 2022.
According to Roku stats and metrics, ad revenue is projected to reach a staggering $1.4 billion by the end of 2022. Moreover, if we consider Roku figures from 2017, when ad revenue was only $157 million, it seems that by 2022 the platform is set to increase its advertising efforts by almost ten times.
17. Neutrogena towelettes noted sales uplift by 5.5% thanks to Roku’s shopper data program.
In the realm of CTV, Roku is the only platform that offers advanced client targeting and measurement. That’s why Neutrogena, Johnson & Johnson’s most famous skincare brand, leveraged this option to boost its sales. Moreover, as per Roku statistics, thanks to this shopper data program, marketers from Neutrogena were able to target and reach consumers more easily, which resulted in 4.2X increased spending on Neutrogena towelettes.
Conclusion
Over the past few years, Roku has managed to become one of the most popular streaming devices on the market. Thanks to its wide range of content, and easy-to-use interface, Roku has become a favorite among US users and beyond. And considering the Roku statistics and facts we’ve reviewed, combined with the continued growth of streaming services, it’s likely that this media streaming device will continue to grow in both popularity and subscribers.
Roku FAQs
How many people are using Roku?
The number of Roku subscribers currently stands at 61.3 million, pointing to a surge of over 10 million from the beginning of 2020 when the company had officially announced they have more than 50 million active accounts across the globe.
What percentage of smart TVs have Roku?
According to some stats, a total of 38% of all smart TVs sold in the United States have Roku. More recent Roku statistics, though, show that this platform holds 52% of the North American market, but this includes other devices such as the Roku Streambar, Roku Express, Ultra, etc.
Does Roku have original content?
At present, the Roku Channel has around 75 original shows, with many more in the pipeline. Very soon, the company announced, they will mark the first time that Roku’s advertiser-premium originals will be shown to marketers.
Sources: MoneyInc, Pixalate, Companies Market Cap, Macrotrends, 42matters, MarketWatch, Roku, Statista, Statista, Statista, Roku, nScreenMedia, Business Insider, The Motley Fool, MAGNA Statista, Ad Exchanger